Old documents & files opening when you open an application


Lion & Mountain Lion has a Resume feature that opens all the documents you had open the last time you worked in an application when you re-open the application. For example, if I worked on a couple of documents in Pages and quit for the day, when I open Pages the next day, it will open those documents I worked on the day before. Some people really like this feature, but for others it is an annoyance. So, how do you fix this problem? The best solution is:
  1. Open System Preferences
  2. Go to General
  3. At this point you will have one of two options:
Option 1 - Check the box in front of the words "Close windows when quitting an application"
Options 2 - Uncheck box in front of the words "Restore windows when quitting a re-opening apps"